Hardware Updates

I built a new PC. Hit the Jump to find out what parts I used. PCPartPicker list at the bottom.

This was my first new custom-built PC in… about 8 years. Been a while. But thanks to AMD, I was able to put a monster CPU in it.

AMD Ryzen 7 – 1700X: The Heart and Soul of this build. 8 Cores, 16 Threads. It’s a beast, and totally overkill for what I do with my PC. But hey, at least I’m probably future-proof for a few years.

ASUS Prime X370 Pro: The backbone. Black and white goes with anything after all. The RGB LEDs are a nice touch, Aura Sync compatible obviously. If the RAM compatibility was better, I could honestly say I have zero problems with this board.

G.Skill Trident Z RGB: The RAM. It Glows. It caches. Etc. Supposedly at 3200 mhz, but uh… Ryzen RAM compatibility? yeah, it’s a meh. Though, working with Asus Aura Sync is nice. Tied to my Motherboard LEDs, and looking right.

Samsung 960 Evo 500GB: The boot drive. It’s small, fast, and expensive. I wish I’d gone for the 1TB version, but damn is this thing fast. It can be had for a decent price too. Maybe I’ll upgrade, someday.

Corsair H110i (v2): Maybe? It’s an older style cooler, it uses the Ryzen stock cooler mounting. But it’s a big radiator… Barely fit in my poor case. In hindsight, I wish I’d just bought the H100 and waited for the Ryzen Bracket… But it does keep my CPU cool.

NZXT S340 Razer Ed: Okay, this is one of the few things I overspent on in the name of Bling. But damn if it isn’t sexy and green. Two of my favorite things. Had enough room for the H110 (barely… not really) and a full basement which looks sweet.

NZXT Hue+: Another thing I over spent on, but 4 LED strips and a controller wasn’t half bad. Only downside? CAM. It STILL doesn’t read Ryzen temps right. Whatever…

ASUS GTX 970 Strix: Okay, this is an older GPU, but I got it used and it’s still plenty for my gaming needs till Vega (or potentially Volta) hits the shelves.

 

I also splurged (a little) and got myself a mechanical keyboard. A Granvala Mechanical Eagle Z-88. It’s a foreign board with Outemu (Cherry Knockoff) Blue switches. But, it’s RGB, with no excess software. So, that’s pretty cool. The switches feel great to type on and they’re not super loud. I mean, I’m a touch typist, I never learned to keyboard, but I probably should… I typed 2 posts today because I like this keyboard so much. Ordered some Gateron Browns off Massdrop, so we’ll see if I really CAN replace the switches for this “DIY Replaceable Keybaord”. But, I’ve done a little research. Worst comes to worst, I may have to crimp a few pins (104… aw jeez Rick), OR simply buy Outemu replacement switches. I’ve only ever tried these blues, so I have no idea how mechanical switches and/or keyboards normally feel. But, I like em so far, and for the price, I couldn’t beat this Mechanical Eagle.

Anyways, that’s all for today. Here’s the PCPartPicker List, as promised.

Leave a Reply

