PSA – Mental Health

Been a while since I posted. Today, I want to talk to you about therapy.

Reason being, is there are people I know who would benefit from it and refuse to go because of misconceptions, or poor experiences.

Well, this is for those of you who think therapy is bunk, or they want to screw with your head, or they can’t help you, or they’re just a bunch of fancy assholes with a degree that tells them how your brain works and you know better than them…

Here we go.

Therapy isn’t a bad thing.

I went to a therapist when I was feeling depressed. When I felt like killing myself. You know what happened? I lucked out. I got someone who cared about me, who was willing to see me almost immediately and someone who helped me overcome that low point in my life. I’m a normal guy. If I can benefit, anyone can.

Let’s dispel some myths I’ve heard.

Therapists only want to change my mind and talk me out of doing what I want to…
FALSE: Therapists want you to be 100% sure that what you want to do is what’s best for you. They will not try to change your mind. They will try to validate your feelings and work on whatever is causing you strife in your life. This goes for any Therapists, even for couples and family counseling. They want you to be healthy.

Therapists also DO NOT want to tell you how to live your life. Because if it blows up in your face, they don’t want to take the blame.

Therapy can’t really help me!
Well not with that attitude!

Therapy isn’t a magic bullet that will solve your problems. You go when you feel a need to, you talk about your problems in safe environment, and you develop a plan to begin to fix them, with an unbiased party who is being paid to be concerned about you!

Therapists want to help you. The only way they can’t, is if you don’t let them.

Therapy is really expensive!
Actually, no.

Therapy can be as affordable as you want it to be. Many times, your school or job will either have a department of mental health professionals, or your insurance will cover some of the cost.

You can always ask.

Even if it does end up being expensive, isn’t your emotional, and cognitive well-being worth it?

Just like any other sickness, a mental one can be dangerous and even kill you if left unchecked.

I had a bad experience with a mental health professional and it turned me off…
Well, I’m sorry about that. That really is a shame. Because there are so many of them! If one doesn’t work for you, it doesn’t mean they all won’t. A brain isn’t like an engine. There’s no manual and different methods might work better for some people than others.

You should never be afraid or timid in finding a new mental health professional if you think one isn’t helping you quite right.

It’s your brain and your job to keep it healthy!

A quick aside; if someone tells you that you may benefit from therapy, even if you don’t agree, realize they are telling you because they care about you and want you to be happy and healthy. Some offices will offer free screening, and it’s in your best interest, if you’re sad or find that life is hard, or that someone cared enough about you to recommend it, that you take a few minutes and ask a professional.

I realize this is a bit disorganized, and I’ll clean the post up and add new things if people gives me more myths. I want people, everyone, to know that therapy isn’t a bad thing. And it could save your life. Because I know it helped save mine. Also a little help never hurt anyone.

So please people, take care of your brain.

Leave a Reply

