Where I’ve Been, What I’ve Done

Well, if you guys haven’t noticed, I haven’t been online or in school recently. There’s 2 reasons for this. Here’s where I’ve been, and what I’ve been through over christmas break.

About 3 weeks ago, I had a tingling (like being “asleep”), in my hands and feet, just my hands and feet. As a result, I spent that Saturday in an Albany MED ER, where I was kept waiting for 8 and a half hours. During that time, I had 2 blood tests (3 vials filled between both arms), a X-Ray of my neck, and several Nuerological exams. The final blood test revealed that I had Mononucleosis (Mono). I returned home, and throughout the next week, I got weaker and weaker. I assumed it was due to the mono, never could I have guessed it was something far more pressing…

Thursday night, almost a week after my last hospital visit, my mother was on Channel 10 briefly and I took a fall. My right knee buckled and I fell down with water in my hands. By the next morning I couldn’t walk or sit up from the couch. Minimal arm, and leg strength. I returned to the hospital that friday. I was again in the ER, one rooom away from where I was. I was kept there for a while, while they pondered what I had, they took more blood, and then told me I was getting a Spinal Tap, or Lumbar Puncture. “A simple procedure, really.” The “Resident” stated, “We simply take a ‘small’ needle and take a ‘small’ amount of spinal fluid for research,”  or so he said.

The biggest needle I have ever seen, was forced into my back 5 – 6 times, with 6 – 7 smaller pokes of a generic, inneffective form of novacane. I was litereally crying when the resident said “We need to finish this up quick before doctor so-and-so gets here, or he’ll make me flip the kid around, because I’m not on my dominant hand.” The pain continued, they flipped me around, and continued to “fish” for the “interspace” or where they took the fluid from. They told me I would probably feel some pain in my legs and to tell them so. Near the end of it, I felt an intense stabbing pain, not in my legs, but my nuts. They knicked the nerve into my scrotum, which hurt like hell before they finished.

When it was done, they moved me into a pediatric intensive care unit, and started my on a run of IVIG (IV – Imuno-Globulin) because the Spinal Tap concluded that I had Gillian Berrett. An auto-immune virus which attacks the mylin sheath between nerves, which stops the data your head sends to your muscles. I basically couldn’t move because my body was attacking my nerves.

Thats the end of part one. Come back later if you have the stomach for it.

One response to “Where I’ve Been, What I’ve Done

  1. dude when you had Mono I was the youngest kids at your friend’s table. it really sucked, except the time i became a human soda fountain when I sprayed soda when Ben Golden made a Joke.

Leave a Reply

